Point of Sale Display

The brief for this exercise was to produce a point of sale display for a greengrocer to go above the fruit and vegetables in their shop. The final reproduction size will be 2 x A1 landscape.

From the information given I would identify the target audience as primarily families with young children and local shoppers. The precinct seems small and not likely to attract the passing trade or range of shopping demographic that a large superstore might. As it is on route to a local primary school it is likely that lots of children and their parents could see the display even when not shopping. I imagine that the shopkeeper would hope the display would boost trade and attract people to the store who perhaps weren’t originally planning on purchasing fruit and vegetables. It would be good if it was eye-catching and memorable enough to stay in the minds of the school traffic when they then came to think about their food shopping. It would also be good if it encouraged children to want to buy fruit on their way to and from school. The keywords from the brief I picked out were:

“point of sale”, “display”, “attract”, “shoppers”, “boost trade”, “small precinct”, “primary school”, “Fruit”, “vegetables”

I did some research and created a Pinterest board of different types of images of fruit and vegetables:

I also read an interesting article about making vegetables into fun animal shapes which gave me some ideas as to what might appeal to my target audience:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/04/21/make-fruit-and-veg-in-fun-animal-shapes-to-appeal-to-kids-say-fa/

449c58f9357117c4202f50fd54169db1

I also created some mind maps of words I associate with fruit and vegetables and the different types available.

I started by thinking about different ways in which I could create images of the fruit and vegetables. I am not the best at drawing so felt limited in creating the illustrations myself without the computer. I did consider doing some paint printing by cutting some fruit and veg segments but couldn’t really visualise a way I would be able to use the prints in a point of sale display so decided against this.

Initially, I created some simple line drawings of fruit in Adobe Illustrator with my Wacom tablet. I then used a wide calligraphy brush to stroke the background colour.

drawn-fruit

I liked the illustrations that I had drawn but decided that they were perhaps not bold enough for a point of sale display. From a distance I felt that they had the potential to look messy and indistinct. The style also wouldn’t work too well with any of my designs…. for example it would be difficult to create a rainbow effect with drawings of this type.

My second idea was to take some original photos and upload them to the computer.

I had a quick look at some of the photos I had uploaded but identified two problems with using them – the first is that the display is an A1 size and raster images (such as photos) do not scale up very well. It seemed better to stick to vector images that can be resized with fidelity. The second issue was that unless I just used a photo of a collection of fruit and vegetables (which has the potential to be rather boring) I would have to think about a mixed media approach and I just wasn’t sure that this would work in this instance. I think that photos and illustrations can sometimes run the risk of looking a bit amateurish and also cause the photos to look dull and flat in comparison to the colours of the illustrations.

I tried some filter effects in photoshop on my pumpkin photo and found that the watercolour filter produced a good result… this would be an original way to produce the pictures of the fruit and veg that didn’t require using stock images.

pumpkin-filters

I also traced the photos in illustrator using the 6-colour option but this made the images rather dull and probably weren’t defined or bright enough to be seen well from a distance.

trace-veg

Another experiment in Illustrator was to see if I could to generate attention and interest by using evocative words to depict the shape of the fruit and vegetables.

Juicy.jpg

The typography in the image of the watermelon worked very well and I really liked this… my idea was to attract attention and interest by using evocative words to depict the shape of the fruit and vegetables. However, when I then expanded the concept and experimented with different fruit and words I realised that it made the type very illegible in many cases. It was also potentially be more difficult for children to understand the message.

img061

I found some images on the website pngimg.com which I thought looked bright and appetising and would be good for a point of sale display. They are free to download.

png-fruit

I wanted my design to appeal to children and adults as the target audience included groups of people walking to school. I had a think about what design styles might work for kids and came up with the following list:

  • Attractive, bold colours
  • Vivid imagery often in cartoon or comic style
  • Use of personification
  • Limited text

I had an idea of creating a rainbow out of the images of fruit and vegetables….. however, when I looked online there were already many different examples of this. Initially this put me off using the idea as I wanted to create something original. I had a chat with a friend and she put the point to me that there isn’t much in the world that hasn’t already been explored visually in some way…. it was more of a creative challenge to think of a new way of using a known image.

I made a few rough drawings of ideas that might work…

img060

fruit-animals

The design I chose to work on lended itself to covering both the fruit and vegetables in one design so I checked with my tutor if it would be possible to amend the brief slightly and make just one display which was twice the size of the A1 size given. He said that if I had a creative rationale for changing the brief slightly then there was always room to do so. My reasons for wanting to work with one image were:

  • It worked better on a larger scale as there were quite a few smaller illustrations within the design.
  • If I had made the rainbow just out of fruit for example I thought it would be difficult to produce a second board for the vegetable display that would match.

I created my image using Illustrator and Photoshop…. the images of the fruit and vegetables were from pngimg.com and I created the rainbow in photoshop, having first drawn a rainbow outline in illustrator to use as a guide.

fruit-and-veg-rainbow

I did a tutorial on the best way to achieve this and learnt some new way to generate and manipulate workpaths. I then used the pen tool in illustrator to draw my buildings and paint drops. The font I chose was KBSticktolt but I wanted it to be a solid colour so I had to change the text into a shape using ‘create outlines’ in ilustrator. I felt that it would be visually clear to be seen from a distance and was a slightly playful font which would hopefully appeal to children and adults.

point-of-sale-design

I am very pleased with my final image as a piece of art and feel it definitely would appeal to a family audience. My only concern is that it includes so many fruits and vegetables in the rainbow that it might detract from the impact of the images themselves and might not immediately make it obvious from a distance what is on sale. My friends said the image was very eye-catching which was positive and that the slogan is catchy and strong. I probably spent too much time creating the actual artwork but I did learn lots and develop my illustrator skills throughout the whole process of this exercise.

Leave a Reply

