Assignment 3 – Colour Me Research

This assignment is to produce a poster (297mmx420mm) that celebrates a colour of your choice.

Keywords:

  • Poster
  • Chosen Colour 
  • Complimentary Colour 
  • Black and White 
  • Explore and Create 
  • Celebrates 
  • Visual Dynamics and Contrast 
  • Text, Collages, Illustrations and Photographs 

I have chosen the colour yellow for this assignment for two main reasons. It is not a colour that I frequently choose to work with and so I think that exploring it in this way will strengthen my knowledge of colour theory and push my creative boundaries. It is also the favourite colour of one of my closest friends…. someone who has given me unparalleled support and encouragement with undertaking this course so far and who makes me a better person and designer.

I brainstormed some ideas of research I want to carry out before starting on my initial poster designs….

img132

I started my research by finding out as much as I could about the colour yellow – including its perceived psychological associations, how it is used in design and branding and what meanings it holds culturally across the world.

img133img134img135img136

I then turned my attention to the colour yellow itself…. it’s properties, different types of yellow and how it is defined and the range of tints, shades and tones available. I collected some examples of popular ‘yellows’ and put them together with purple, yellow’s complementary colour.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-10-44-19

I used the hex value for the CMYK yellow to generate a range of tints, tones and shades on the website collor.com.

screen-shot-2017-01-26-at-11-42-44

I also used Adobe Kuler to create a monochromatic colour scheme from the yellow section of the colour wheel.

screen-shot-2017-01-26-at-14-01-44

The number of variations of the colour yellow are quite overwhelming (sand, ivory, cream, beige, daffodil, canary, corn, straw) and so I decided to move from the digital to the physical world and experiment with creating different tints and shades of yellow by mixing coloured paints.

I found this quite a useful exercise as it gave me the opportunity to see the colours on paper rather than screen and to get a feel for the effects of adding different amounts of white and black. It didn’t take much black for the colour to become quite murky looking whereas quite a substantial amount of white made only subtle changes to the lightness.

Having explored Yellow as a colour in itself I moved on to looking at the use of Yellow in graphic design. My first point of call was looking at artwork associated with Batman – I love Batman and was familiar with the colour yellow being visually associated with him.

The most striking think about these designs is the contrast between the black and the yellow and seeing how the black gives the yellow a strength and visual presence that it would lack if set against white. This made me think about the connection of black and white to yellow and how I would use both in my own posters. Black and yellow together is commonly associated with industry and business in website and logo use.

I created a Pinterest board of examples of art and posters using yellow and purple that appealed to me.

 

http://www.onextrapixel.com/2010/02/16/anatomy-of-colors-in-web-design-yellow-and-the-sunshine-feel/ – This article details the use of yellow in web design and gives some examples of different types of yellow and the impact different hues can have on moulding perceptual connections to a company, brand or product.

I particularly liked this picture from americanquilter.com which shows depth and contrast being achieved using different shades and tints within an almost monochromatic colour scheme.

842a897dc2abed6b04296377c8f2d961

The idea of designing with a monochromatic colour scheme is obviously very relevant to this assignment. A monochromatic palette is essentially composed of a base colour and its variations, including shades, tints and tones. The addition of black, white and grey can create a versatile spectrum of colour options within a scheme that creates harmony and a visually cohesive look. An accent colour against a monochromatic scheme can work well to create visual contrast in a composition and allows elements to stand out.

Leave a Reply

