Poster and Flyer

For this exercise I need to design an A3 poster and an accompanying double sided A6 flyer to promote a singing course run by an organisation called SingOut. The posters need to be in black and white and be suitable for photocopying.

The information for the poster is:

  • Do you love to sing?
  • Join us for an exciting opportunity during the day with a professional vocal coach. Learn to sing different types of music, vocal techniques, meet new people and have fun!
  • 10.30 to 12.00 every Tuesday from 11 March
  • The Community Centre, Charlotte Church Road
  • £60 for the course
  • No experience needed/no requirement to read music
  • For more information please call 011779 8765432 www.singout.com

I think that the above information is just about adequate for fulfilling the brief but in an ideal world I would like to have the opportunity to ask a few more questions including:

  • Who are the target audience? – what is the local demographic?
  • Does the organisation have an existing logo that I could incorporate in the design?

For my A3 poster I would establish the hierarchy of the information to be:

Primary Importance

  • Do you love to sing?

Secondary Importance

  • Join us for an exciting opportunity during the day with a professional vocal coach. Learn to sing different types of music, vocal techniques, meet new people and have fun!
  • 10.30 to 12.00 every Tuesday from 11 March
  • The Community Centre, Charlotte Church Road
  • £60 for the course

Tertiary Importance

  • No experience needed/no requirement to read music
  • For more information please call 011779 8765432 www.singout.com

For my A6 flyer I would probably choose to limit the front to just the primary information above and include a related graphic or illustration. I would then include the further information on the back of the flyer.

It will be important to develop a cohesive design so that there is consistency across both the A3 poster and A6 flyer so that people are aware that they are connected and are promoting one organisation and event.

When designing for a publicity campaign that incorporates several sizes/configurations of printed material it is crucial to develop a strong and unified visual relationship between all the designs. There needs to be visual similarities across all formats but the design must be flexible in order to most effectively utilise the individual layouts.

Matching design elements throughout the designs can really serve to build cohesion. This can be effectively achieved using consistent colour palettes and typefaces. Developing a hierarchy for the information which is emphasised by colour and font can create a visual road map for the eye to follow and if used consistently across several designs will link them in the mind of the audience. A selection of specific images or a particular illustrative theme will link designs and such elements can be manipulated in their size, placement and emphasis depending on the layout.

The other significant consideration for this brief is working within a limited colour palette and ensuring that all elements of the design will retain their definition and impact having been reproduced by a photocopier.

A limited colour palette can make a bold statement and black and white are a strong and powerful combination but if used poorly there is a risk that the design will fail to attract people’s attention and could be considered visually uninteresting.

Below I’ve made some notes on possible techniques and design styles I could use to make my posters eye-catching and successful.

  • I could challenge any perceived inflexibility of working with only two colours but using bold and contrasting directional lines to create visual tension and movement.
  • I could use patterns and illustrations to create striking visual impact.
  • I could compliment the simple colour palette with a minimalist design that focusses on simplicity. Straightforward designs can often be extremely effective.
  • I could consider using different shades of the colours and use grey as a visual bridge to add interest and depth.
  • I can think carefully about the readability and visibility of text. Headings and subheadings can often work very well with white text on a black background whereas smaller body text is often more readable if black on a white background.
  • I should use vector illustrations or line art rather than photographs as they will reproduce better on photocopied copies of the poster and flyers.

I did some research and created a Pinterest board of black and white designs which use some of the elements and styles above.

I then did some very rough sketches of ideas for possible poster designs

img203

I decided to develop the one that focussed on simple shapes and blocks of colour. I wanted to be able to contrast black text on white and the reverse to give the information the most visual impact. I didn’t want to overcomplicate the illustration or have too many images as there was already a lot of text to incorporate and I was trying to avoid the whole design appearing cluttered.

Once I had drawn my initial illustration I experimented with some different typefaces for the heading. I really liked the typeface ‘Ciao’ as it feels quite melodic but it didn’t work as well as I had hoped for the title. The stems of the letters are too thin and its not eye-catching enough.

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 16.03.57

In the end I chose a combination of the serif typeface ‘Bodoni’ for the title and a sans serif called ‘Biko’ for the body text. I wanted a combination to achieve a balance between looking too modern or too old-fashioned so that the poster appealed to the widest range of audience. Biko comes in different weights and this was useful in helping to establish a typographical hierarchy. I chose ‘Trench Thin’ for the name of the organisation as I thought the character ‘g’ looked a little like a microphone.

My final designs were

A3 Poster

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.19.29

A6 Flyer Front

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.17.34

A6 Flyer Back

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.18.13

Overall I am pretty pleased with my designs…. I think the black silhouettes are bold and eye-catching and compliment the message. I think by using vector drawings and keeping the design simple the visual integrity will be preserved when the design is photocopied. As I was not given an indication of the intended audience I would potentially be concerned that my design might not appeal to the right section of the population. The image I have chosen is quite modern and the microphone could give the impression of a particular style of music or type of performance.

Leave a Reply

