The French Hen

This exercise asked me to develop some ideas for a logo for a cafe/wine bar called ‘The French Hen’. The bar will be located near the city centre and the target market is younger women and sophisticated young men. The logo will be used for menu covers, the outside signage, a window detail, staff t-shirts, napkins and a two sided beermat.

The keywords I have identified from the brief are:

  • Cafe/Wine Bar
  • City Centre
  • Younger Women
  • Sophisticated young men
  • Sophisticated and relaxed
  • Discerning drinker
  • Respectable

Some thoughts I had with regards this target audience is the importance of developing a brand with a personality that reflects their own and promotes an experience and products of a high quality and standard. I think the logo should reflect professionalism and be quite subtle rather than bold or patronising. I think something uncluttered and minimalist making use of abstract shapes or geometric lines would be more appropriate than detailed illustration.

I started by sketching a few ideas of paper

img207

Initially I was interested in my idea of using typography to form the tail of the hen out of the name of the bar but having sketched the design I realised that to achieve the shape I would need to use quite heavy lettering and I wasn’t sure this would convey an impression of sophistication. I liked the idea of the wine bottle pouring out the name of the bar but was concerned that it might be a little cliche and over-used as a concept for a bar logo.

In the end I decided to develop the sketch of the abstract hen within the wine glass and drew my original design in illustrator. For the text I chose two different typefaces to emphasise the distinction between the name of the bar and its description. The font I have used for ‘The French Hen’ is Vonique 92. It is a modern looking sans serif font which I think would appeal to the target audience and it has quite an edgy feel due to the irregular shape of the characters. For the ‘Cafe and Bar’ text I have used Parisienne which is reminiscent of the typefaces used in elegant and sophisticated French cafes and bistros.

I was having trouble deciding where to place the text and tried several different versions. Overall, I like the illustration and text contained within the circle as I feel this will be the most versatile logo. It is self-contained and the proportions are balanced. I was conscious of it being used for a variety of different purposes and was concerned that some of the longer, thinner layouts could be less transferable across formats.

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 10.26.32

Having decided on the basic layout for my logo I put together some colour schemes which I felt were both quite French and also modern and youthful. I experimented with different combinations of colour for the logo and narrowed my choice down to three. I thought that the definition of the wine glass was lost somewhat by the coloured backgrounds and so I filled in half the glass with colour to help it stand out more.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 17.10.59Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 14.20.44Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 14.19.17

It was difficult to choose between my final three colour schemes. I felt the version with the grey background possibly looked the most sophisticated but the pale cream background looked the most inviting and warm which is important to attract people into a venue. I darkened the text of this one slightly to make the information stand out more and was happy with my final logo design.

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 10.51.39

I then mocked up the menu covers, the outside sign, the window detail, some t-shirts, a paper napkin and a beermat.

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 14.44.40Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 14.56.25Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 15.05.31Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 16.07.13Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 17.04.12Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 17.04.33Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 17.14.05

Overall, I think my design has the versatility to work across all these different applications and also in black and white. If I had more time I might play around with the colours again but generally I was pleased with the design for this project.

Leave a Reply

