Assignment 5 – Final Designs

A3 Poster 

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 12.02.52

A5 Landscape Flyer 

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 12.04.06Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 12.03.35

I decided to use just the title information for the front of my flyer as it was the element of my original artwork that best loaned itself to working in a landscape format. I was able to include space for some more detailed information about the play on the back of the flyer. I chose Helvetica for the body text.

A6 Newspaper Advert

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 12.03.52

I designed the newspaper advert in colour but I feel it would work successfully in black and white as well. I decided to omit the illustration for the newspaper as it is a medium that I feel lends itself more to a text based design approach.

A5 Programme Cover

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 12.03.13

The programme requires less information on the front cover and so I decreased the size of the smaller text box and increased the size of the characters in the illustration.

Overall I am quite pleased with my final designs. I think that they effectively answer the main requirements of the brief and are visually appealing. I did have concerns about the legibility of the font I chose for the title but when I looked at the other 1970’s inspired typefaces I realised that the design style of the era was more decorative and so I didn’t feel I could avoid this without compromising the 1970’s theme. As has been a common issue throughout this course I found myself restricted by my limited skills in illustration and so felt my best option was to use silhouetted characters in my design. If I did this project again with a larger budget I would probably ask an illustrator to draw the characters for me to insert into my composition. The feedback from my friends for my designs were very positive.

Leave a Reply

